Obey Motorcyclist Laws in Sacramento — AutoAccident.com
Sacramento Motorcyclist Laws
Motorcycling is a popular sport in California due to its beautiful scenery and many open roads. However, accidents involving motorcyclists are common. It is important to know the motorcyclist laws in the state that can keep a motorcyclist safe.
Although motorcycles are much more maneuverable than motor vehicles, they are also more dangerous due to the vulnerability of the rider. Since motorcycle riding rules change often, it’s important to keep up not only to be safe, but also to stay within the law. If you are injured by the negligence of another motorist or entity, you can file a claim to recover compensation.
At least minimum insurance is required to be a motorcyclist in California
A motorcyclist knows that he must register his vehicle with the California Department of Motor Vehicles. Having insurance is a must because otherwise you cannot get a license. The minimum coverage is $5,000 for property damage, $15,000 for bodily injury and $30,000 if more than one person is injured in a collision for which you are at fault. You can lose your license to drive your motorcycle for at least a year if you are uninsured. You also cannot claim compensation, even if you have been the victim of an accident for which you are not responsible.
You must wear a helmet
California law requires all motorcyclists to wear a helmet approved by the US Department of Transportation. It should also have a DOT badge on the back and should fit snugly. Note that you are not allowed to remove your helmet in traffic to make adjustments, even if you are stopped at a light. The fine for not wearing one can reach $250. Because helmets have been proven to reduce the risk of traumatic brain injury and facial lacerations in a crash, it would be a good idea for a motorcyclist to wear one even if it weren’t necessary.
Ride with a passenger
Those carrying a passenger on their motorcycle should have a bicycle with a securely attached seat and footrests. Passengers are not allowed to remove their feet from these footrests if the bike is in motion and must also wear a helmet. Although there is no age limit, if the passenger’s feet cannot reach the footpegs, it is probably illegal for them to ride with you.
Licensing laws for riders under 21
A biker who is a minor must be between 15 ½ and 17 ½ to apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit. They cannot drive on highways, travel at night, or carry another passenger. Learner’s permits are valid for one year, but riders under 21 must use them for at least six months before applying for a permit and taking the motorcycle safety training course.
Mufflers are mandatory on California motorcycles
California motorcycles cannot have noise from their exhausts over 80 dbA. If the bicycle was manufactured before 1970, the noise it emits cannot be higher than 92 dbA. Above this and the rider may be fined by the police.
Use caution when splitting lanes
While lane separation is allowed in California for a motorcyclist, caution is obviously required. Riders should go no faster than 10 mph above other traffic and never above 30 mph. Trying to separate lanes when there are a lot of large commercial trucks in the area is a bad idea because drivers can’t see you clearly. Also, be aware of drivers changing lanes, as you may find yourself in their blind spot.
Sacramento Motorcycle Accident Lawyer
I am Ed Smitha Sacramento Motorcycle Accident Lawyer. Being vigilant and obeying the law are ways to stay safe while riding your motorcycle. However, accidents sometimes happen beyond your control and can seriously injure you. If a negligent driver is the cause, we have free, friendly advice on whether you can file a claim for compensation. Contact our personal injury attorneys at (916) 921-6400. You can also reach us at (800) 404-5400 or by sending us a message in line.
We are proud to be members of:
Find out how our damage lawyers have helped others on the following links:
Photo attribution: Image by Albrecht Fietz from Pixabay
:cd lo